What to Do After a Car Accident
Before you ever sit in the driver’s seat of a vehicle, it is important to know exactly what to do after a car accident. Texas laws have certain requirements that you need to fulfill, but you also have obligations to yourself.
Naturally, you want to be sure that everyone is alright, but you also need to cover all of the legal bases as well. Since an accident can make anyone not think clearly, it’s important to have this information memorized before the situation occurs.
Safety is always the first concern, for you as well as for the other people involved. That’s why the very first thing you need to do is get out of the way of oncoming traffic. The next step you should take is to check on the other drivers and any passengers and get them to safety. Be sure to request permission before touching anyone, but see them safely out of the way of traffic if possible.
Reporting the Accident to the Police
While you are not legally obligated to report every single accident to the police, it’s really best that you do so. If you don’t, there won’t be a police report to refer to afterward.
Instead, you and the other party will either have to file a report on your own or you will have to agree that the damages are less than $1,000 and that no one was seriously injured, in which case a report will not be necessary.
Just keep in mind that after you leave, the other driver may call the police and say that you fled the scene. If you do leave, make sure that the other party is able to leave as well. You are obligated to see them to safety, even if that means giving them a ride. This is also when you will exchange identification and insurance information.
Medical Assessment After a Car Accident
Even if you think you feel fine immediately after a car accident, it’s important that you seek medical attention anyway. See a medical professional, even if you do not think you have an injury. Many injuries do not present symptoms right away, including serious neck and back injuries. It is best to get checked out just to be safe, rather than risk injuries worsening or revealing themselves later.
Within ten days of an accident resulting in $1,000 or more in damages or in an injury or death, you will need to follow Texas law and submit a CR-2. If there is an officer present, he or she will submit a CR-3.
You should also contact our lawyers at Colley & Colley, LLP, especially if your accident happened because of someone else’s negligence. Don’t risk your health and wellbeing by overlooking important steps after a car accident.
Contact us online or call us toll-free at 1-844-325-9290 for a free case evaluation.